Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

The Cape Cod MPO: Collaborative planning for the region’s transportation needs 

Planning for major road work projects across the region is a collaborative effort. Federal, state, and regional transportation planners seek various levels of input and approval before construction begins.     

The Cape Cod Metropolitan Planning Organization (CCMPO) is a crucial element in the transportation planning process. This group brings together local, regional, state, and federal officials who convene to assess, guide, and make decisions on different facets and outcomes of transportation projects.    

CCMPO members vote to approve federal transportation funding for Cape Cod, including a portion of funding it can directly allocate to local transportation projects. The CCMPO also supports transportation planning studies and technical assistance projects and works to provide continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning for the region.      

The group receives regular updates on planned and ongoing state and local projects and notifications of grant opportunities.     

On November 20, 2023, the CCMPO held its triennial subregional elections for its four subregions (Upper Cape, Dennis-Yarmouth, Lower Cape, and Outer Cape). Select board members in each subregion are eligible candidates and all had voting privileges in the election process to choose a representative for a three-year term beginning in January 2024. Subregional representatives provide a voice for their regions and serve as a conduit for information for the towns they represent.  The Town of Barnstable holds its own seat on the CCMPO, and the Cape Cod Commission, Barnstable Board of Regional Commissioners, Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority, and Wampanoag tribe also have representative seats on the board. 

"The CCMPO does amazing work planning for and voting on the implementation of significant federal and state funds for multi-modal roadway projects," said Orleans select board member Kevin Galligan, who was re-elected to serve as the Lower Cape representative. "My emphasis over the past three years has been on projects that support the State's Clean Energy and Climate Action Plan, including walkability, pedestrian and bikeway improvements."  

Among efforts to support climate-forward roadways, Galligan noted the MPO's involvement in including Route 6 on the National Electric Vehicle Alternative Fuel Corridor map, making the region eligible for federal funding to support electric vehicle charging infrastructure expansion. The MPO worked with Commission staff to ask MassDOT to request the inclusion of Route 6 on the map. 

Ensuring that all towns are positioned to receive funding is another critical facet of the MPO, said Galligan, as well as providing space for the public to learn about and comment on planned and upcoming projects.   

The Cape Cod MPO typically meets on the third Monday of the month at 1 p.m. Learn more at 

Select board members in each subregion voted on representatives during the November 20, 2023 CCMPO meeting. Representatives hold their seats from January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2026. Subregion A, comprised of Bourne, Falmouth, Mashpee, and Sandwich, elected Edwin P. Zylinski of Falmouth. Subregion B, consisting of Yarmouth and Dennis, elected Peter Q. Smith of Yarmouth. Subregion C, comprised of Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, and Orleans, elected Kevin Galligan of Orleans, and Subregion D, consisting of Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, and Provincetown, elected Art Autorino of Eastham.   

Search Circle Icon Search Icon Document Icon Video Icon PDF Icon CSV/XLS Icon